

U.S Department of Transportation Office of Public Affairs 1200 New Jersey Ave., S.E. Washington, DC 20590 www.dot.gov/affairs/briefing.htm

News

SLSDC 01-11 Thursday, April 28, 2011 Contact: Nancy Alcalde (SLSDC) Tel: 202-366-0091

Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation Announces Pacesetter Award Winners for 2010 Navigation Season

The Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) today announced six winners of its prestigious Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award for the 2010 navigation season. This annual award is presented to U.S. Great Lakes ports that register an increase for the year in international cargo tonnage shipped through the Seaway.

The six ports that have won the Pacesetter Award for 2010 are:

- Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority
- Duluth Seaway Port Authority
- Ogdensburg Bridge and Port Authority
- Port of Indiana Burns Harbor
- Port of Oswego Authority
- Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority

"This robust increase in international cargo shipments is good news for the U.S. economy and underscores the importance of the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Seaway System," said U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood. "We are encouraged by what we are seeing and applaud the outstanding work of the Great Lakes ports."

SLSDC Administrator Collister Johnson, Jr. added, "We are pleased to see the gains made in international cargo shipments last year. The performance of the six Pacesetter Award-winning ports benefits the entire Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System."

All six of these ports have been past winners of the award since its inception in 1992. This is the twelfth year that the ports of Duluth, Oswego, and Toledo-Lucas County have received a Pacesetter Award. The Port of Cleveland and the Port of Indiana-Burns Harbor have received nine prior Pacesetter awards, and this will be the seventh time the Port of Ogdensburg will be presented with the award.

Administrator Johnson will present the awards to each of the winners at port visits during the coming months.