

SLSDC 03-16 Thursday, October 6, 2016 Contact: Thomas Lavigne Tel.: (315) 764-3251 180 Andrews Street P. O. Box 520 Massena, N. Y. 13662-0520 315-764-3200



Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

## U.S. Transportation Secretary Foxx Honors Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation Employees

WASHINGTON – U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx today honored many employees from the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) office in Massena, New York and from the SLSDC office in Washington, DC at the 49<sup>th</sup> annual U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) Secretary's Awards Ceremony. At the event, held in Washington, DC, the Secretary recognized employees and teams across DOT who performed their duties in an exemplary manner to meet the Department's strategic goals and accomplish its mission.

"The men and women working in every mode of transportation at DOT have a deep commitment to ensuring that our nation's transportation systems are safe, reliable, and efficient, and the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation staff is no exception," said Secretary Foxx. "I am pleased to recognize these outstanding employees for a job well done, and look forward to their continued leadership."

Secretary Foxx awarded a Meritorious Achievement Award to Nancy Scott, Director of the Office of Financial Management and Chief Financial Officer, for her outstanding contributions to the advancement of the Department's financial management goals through the development and implementation of a new financial management system. Matt Trego received the Secretary's Excellence Award for outstanding contributions to the Binational Seaway Ship Inspection Program and navigation safety in the Seaway.

A Secretarial Team Award was presented to the *Saint Laurent* Incident Team, recognizing them for their outstanding contributions to the Department's safety goals through the timely and effective response to the *Saint Laurent* passenger cruise ship incident. On June 18, 2015, the *Saint Laurent* struck the lock bumper at Eisenhower Lock in Massena, N.Y., and the collective response to the incident was immediate, coordinated, and effective. These efforts ensured the safety of over 200 passengers and crew. The vessel was quickly stabilized, and navigation in the Seaway resumed within 48 hours.

A Secretarial Transportation Safety Award was presented to the Lock Wall Fall Protection Team for their outstanding contributions to the design and installation of an innovative Lock Wall Fall Protection System. This team was instrumental in developing and implementing a unique and innovative lock wall fall protection system – the first of its kind in North America.

Additionally, the Department is celebrating its 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary this year and Joy Pasquariello is the SLSDC's modal representative on a DOT-wide 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee. The group received a Secretary's Team Award for the outstanding collaboration in the planning and execution of the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary events.

"I want to thank all of the Secretarial Award winners for their extraordinary efforts and their commitment – they are all so deserving," said SLSDC Administrator Betty Sutton. "The SLSDC has some of the most dedicated and professional employees in the federal sector, and I am very proud of their performance and devotion to the Great Lakes Saint Lawrence Seaway System."

###



Left to right: Administrator Betty Sutton, Ryan Chatland, Joy Pasquariello, David Sanford, Nancy Scott, Matt Trego, and Deputy Administrator Craig Middlebrook