

180 Andrews Street P. O. Box 520 Massena, N. Y. 13662-0520 315-764-3200



Friday, November 15, 2019 Contact: Nancy Alcalde Telephone: (202) 366-0091 MEDIA ADVISORY For Immediate Release

Seaway Employees Receive U.S. Dept. of Transportation Secretary's Award

(Washington, D.C.) - U.S. Secretary of Transportation Elaine L. Chao honored employees from the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) at the 52nd Annual Department of Transportation (DOT) Secretary's Awards Ceremony. At the event, held yesterday in Washington, DC, the Secretary recognized individuals and teams across DOT who performed their duties in an exemplary manner to meet the Department's strategic goals and accomplish its mission.

The SLSDC was privileged to have two teams of employees receiving a Transportation Safety Award. The Water Rescue Team, comprised of Jeremy Buffham, Keith Benham, Matthew Cole, Nicholas Hallada, and Kevin Smith, received a Transportation Safety Award for retrieving a vessel crew member who had fallen into the water from a ship entering the Eisenhower Lock. In addition, the Secretary of Transportation presented the team with the Department's highest award, the Gold Medal. This award is granted by the Secretary in recognition of exceptionally outstanding leadership or service that is distinguished by achievements of marked national or international significance that reflect great credit on the Department of Transportation and the federal government.

The Hands Free Mooring Team was recognized for their work in designing, constructing, and commissioning the hands-free mooring system at the U.S. Seaway locks, which will enhance both workplace and vessel safety. The team members were Matthew Beamer, Keith Benham, Ryan Chatland, Anthony Curley, Keith Ellis, Jon-Paul Faucher, Lee Fregoe, Christopher Guimond, Kyle Hanley, Stephen McCargar, Thomas Owney, Christopher Phillips, David Sanford, Jeffrey Scharf, Gregory Torrey, and Brian Tulip. Thomas Owney received the award on behalf of the team.

Secretary Chao awarded a Meritorious Achievement Award to Carrie Rogers, for her significant contributions to the SLSDC in her role as Accounting Officer in the Massena, NY office. This is the third highest award bestowed by the Secretary in recognition of exceptionally meritorious service to the Department or Federal government. With Carrie's involvement, the SLSDC obtained its 55th consecutive clean audit in 2018.

Kyle Savage, Management Specialist in the SLSDC's Washington, DC office, was presented the Secretary's Excellence Award, which is granted to employees who have achieved outstanding performance in all aspects of their work and deserve special commendation. Kyle is receiving this award for consistent and prolonged excellence in his support of the SLSDC Office of the Administrator.



180 Andrews Street P. O. Box 520 Massena, N. Y. 13662-0520 315-764-3200



SLSDC Deputy Administrator Craig H. Middlebrook said, "I am proud of the accomplishments of these SLSDC employees and pleased that the Department of Transportation is recognizing their superior performance. The SLSDC's workforce is comprised of professional and dedicated civil servants and these Secretarial awards recognizing their exceptional achievements, in both routine and emergency situations, are well-deserved."



SLSDC employees in attendance at the USDOT 52nd Secretary's Annual Awards Ceremony (Back Row L-R): Associate Administrator Thomas Lavigne, Jeremy Buffham, Matthew Cole, Kevin Smith, and Keith Benham. (Front Row L-R): Thomas Owney, Carrie Rogers, Kyle Savage, and Deputy Administrator Craig H. Middlebrook.